Gardening Know How - https://www.gardeningknowhow.com

Bushes For Zone 5 Climates – Tips On Planting Zone 5 Shrubs

If you live in USDA zone [1] 5 and are looking to overhaul, redesign or just tweak your landscape, planting some zone 5 suitable shrubs may be the answer. The good news is that there are many options for growing shrubs in zone 5. Zone 5 shrub varieties can be used as privacy screens, accent plants along with seasonal color or as border plants. Read on to find out about bushes for zone 5 climates.

About Bushes for Zone 5 Climates

Shrubs are an important feature in a landscape. Evergreen shrubs [2] become anchors of permanence and deciduous shrubs add interest with their changing foliage and blossoms throughout the seasons. They add scale and structure to the garden in conjunction with trees and other perennials.

Before planting zone 5 shrubs, do some research and carefully consider their requirements, ultimate size, adaptability, and seasons of interest. For instance, does the shrub have a creeping habit, is it mounded, and what is its overall spread? Know the shrub’s site conditions. That is, what pH [3], texture, and drainage [4] of the soil does it prefer? How much sun and wind exposure does the site get?

Zone 5 Shrub Varieties

It’s all very well to read a list of shrubs suited to zone 5, but it’s always a good idea to do a little local research as well. Take a look around and note what types of shrubs are common to the area. Consult your local extension office [5], nursery or botanical garden. On that note, here is a partial list of shrubs suited to growing in zone 5 gardens.

Deciduous shrubs

Deciduous shrubs under 3 feet (1 m.) include:

Somewhat larger (3-5 feet or 1-1.5 m. tall) shrubs that are suited to zone 5 are:

Larger deciduous shrubs, those that get from 5-9 feet (1.5-3 m.) in height, include:

Evergreen shrubs

As to the evergreens, several shrubs of between 3-5 feet (1-1.5 m.) in height include:

Larger, more tree-like shrubs that grow from 5 to 15 feet (1.5-4.5 m.) in height may include varieties of the following:


Article printed from Gardening Know How: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com

URL to article: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/gardening-by-zone/zone-5/planting-zone-5-shrubs.htm

URLs in this post:

[1] USDA zone: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/planting-zones/usda-planting-zone-map.htm

[2] Evergreen shrubs: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/shgen/evergreen-garden-shrubs.htm

[3] pH: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/soil-fertilizers/soil-ph-plants.htm

[4] drainage: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/soil-fertilizers/making-sure-soil-drains-well.htm

[5] local extension office: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/garden-how-to/info/what-is-extension-service.htm

[6] Abelia: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/abelia/planting-abelia-bushes.htm

[7] Bearberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/groundcover/bearberry/growing-bearberry-plants.htm

[8] Crimson Pygmy Barberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/barberry/crimson-pygmy-barberry-shrubs.htm

[9] Japanese Quince: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/flowering-quince/japanese-flowering-quince.htm

[10] Cotoneaster: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/cotoneaster/how-to-grow-cotoneaster.htm

[11] Deutzia: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/deutzia/growing-deutzia-plants.htm

[12] Bush honeysuckle: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/diervilla/diervilla-shrub-information.htm

[13] Spirea: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/spirea/growing-spirea-shrubs.htm

[14] Serviceberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/edible/fruits/serviceberries/growing-serviceberries.htm

[15] Japanese Barberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/barberry/barberry-shrub-care-tips.htm

[16] Purple Beautyberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/beautyberry-shrub/american-beautyberry-shrubs.htm

[17] Burkwood Daphne: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/winter-daphne/daphne-plant-types.htm

[18] Cinquefoil: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/groundcover/cinquefoil/potentilla-ground-cover.htm

[19] Weeping Forsythia: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/forsythia/growing-weeping-forsythia.htm

[20] Smooth Hydrangea: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/hydrangea/smooth-hydrangea-care.htm

[21] Winterberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/holly/winterberry-holly-care.htm

[22] Virginia Sweetspire: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/itea/itea-sweetspire.htm

[23] Winter Jasmine: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/jasmine/winter-jasmine-care.htm

[24] Japanese Kerria: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/japanese-kerria/growing-japanese-kerria.htm

[25] Dwarf Flowering Almond: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/trees/flowering-almond/growing-flowering-almonds.htm

[26] Azalea: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/azalea/azaleas-noteworthy-shrubs-for-any-garden.htm

[27] Shrub Roses: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/roses/what-is-shrub-roses.htm

[28] Snowberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/snowberry-bush/snowberry-bush-care.htm

[29] Viburnum: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/viburnum/viburnum-shrub.htm

[30] Butterfly Bush: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/butterfly-bush/butterfly-bush-care.htm

[31] Summersweet: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/summersweet/summersweet-plant.htm

[32] Winged Euonymus: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/burning-bush/burning-bush-care.htm

[33] Border Forsythia: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/forsythia/forsythia-shrub-care.htm

[34] Fothergilla: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/fothergilla/growing-fothergilla-shrubs.htm

[35] Witch Hazel: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/witch-hazel/growing-witch-hazel-shrubs.htm

[36] Rose of Sharon: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/rose-of-sharon/rose-of-sharon-bush.htm

[37] Oakleaf Hydrangea: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/hydrangea/care-for-oakleaf-hydrangea.htm

[38] Northern Bayberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/trees/bayberry/growing-northern-bayberry-trees.htm

[39] Tree Peony: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/peony/how-to-grow-a-tree-peony.htm

[40] Mock orange: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/mock-orange/mock-orange-bushes.htm

[41] Ninebark: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/ninebark/growing-ninebark-shrubs.htm

[42] Purple Leaved Sandcherry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/trees/sand-cherry/purple-leaf-sandcherry-info.htm

[43] Pussy Willow: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/pussy-willow/growing-pussy-willows.htm

[44] Lilac: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/lilac/lilac-care-growing-and-planting-lilac-bush-plants.htm

[45] Weigela: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/weigela/growing-weigela.htm

[46] Boxwood: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/boxwood/boxwood-care.htm

[47] Heather/Heath: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/flowers/heather/growing-heather.htm

[48] Wintercreeper Euonymus: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/vines/wintercreeper/euonymus-wintercreeper-vines.htm

[49] Inkberry: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/holly/growing-inkberry-holly.htm

[50] Mountain Laurel: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/mountain-laurel/mountain-laurel-growing.htm

[51] Heavenly Bamboo: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/heavenly-bamboo/growing-heavenly-bamboo.htm

[52] Mugo Pine: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/trees/pine/mugo-pine-information.htm

[53] Leatherleaf: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/leatherleaf/leatherleaf-plant-care.htm

[54] Eastern Red Cedar: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/juniper/caring-for-eastern-red-cedar.htm

[55] Leucothoe: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/leucothoe/growing-a-leucothoe-bush.htm

[56] Oregon Grape Holly: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/mahonia/grape-holly-plant-care.htm

[57] Pieris: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/japanese-andromeda/propagating-pieris-plants.htm

[58] Cherry Laurel: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/cherry-laurel/growing-cherry-laurels.htm

[59] Scarlet Firethorn: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/firethorn/care-of-firethorn-bush.htm

[60] Juniper: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/juniper/care-of-junipers.htm

[61] Arborvitae: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/trees/arborvitae/growing-arborvitae-trees.htm

[62] Rhododendron: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/rhododendron/rhododendron-care.htm

[63] Yew: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/yew/growing-yew-shrubs.htm

[64] Holly: https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ornamental/shrubs/holly/growing-holly-bushes.htm

Have any questions about this topic? Visit us at https://questions.gardeningknowhow.com to ask your questions and get friendly answers from gardening experts.

You can also find us at:
'Like' us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gardeningknowhow
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/gardenknowhow - @gardenknowhow
Follow us on Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/gardenknowhow/

Copyright © 2020 Gardening Know How. All rights reserved.