Gardening Know How -

Zone 6 Nut Trees – Best Nut Trees For Zone 6 Climates

What nut trees grow in zone 6? If you’re hoping to grow nut trees [1] in a climate where winter temperatures can drop as low as -10 F. (-23 C.), you’re in luck. Many hardy nut trees actually prefer a chilly period during the winter months. While most nut trees are relatively slow to establish, many can continue to grace the landscape for centuries, some reaching majestic heights of 100 feet. Read on for a few examples of hardy nut trees for zone 6.

Zone 6 Nut Trees

The following nut tree varieties are all hardy to zone 6 regions:


  • Black Walnut [2] (Juglans nigra), zones 4-9
  • Carpathian Walnut, also known as English or Persian walnut, (Juglans regia), zones 5-9
  • Butternut [3] (Juglans cinerea), zones 3-7
  • Heartnuts [4], also known as Japanese walnuts (Juglans sieboldiana), zones 4-9
  • Buartnuts (Juglans cinerea x juglans spp.), zones 3-7


  • Apache (Carya illinoensis ‘Apache’), zones 5-9
  • Kiowa (Carya illinoensis ‘Kiowa’), zones 6-9
  • Wichita (Carya illinoensis ‘Wichita’), zones 5-9
  • Pawnee (Carya illinoensis ‘Pawnee’), zones 6-9

Pine Nut

  • Korean pine (Pinus koreaiensis), zones 4-7
  • Italian stone pine [5] (Pinus pinea), zones 4-7
  • Swiss stone pine (Pinus cembra), zones 3-7
  • Lacebark pine (Pinus bungeana), zones 4-8
  • Siberian dwarf pine (Pinus pumila), zones 5-8

Hazelnut (also known as filberts)

  • Common Hazelnut [6], also known as contorted or European hazelnut (Corylus avellana), zones 4-8
  • American Hazelnut (Corylus americana), zones 4-9
  • Beaked Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta), zones 4-8
  • Red Majestic Contorted Filbert (Corylus avellana ‘Red Majestic’), zones 4-8
  • Western Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta v. Californica), zones 4-8
  • Contorted Filbert, also known as Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick [7], (Corylus avellana ‘Contorta’), zones 4-8


  • Shagbark Hickory [8] (Catya ovata), zones 3-7
  • Shellbark Hickory (Catya laciniosa), zones 4-8
  • Kingnut Hickory (Catya laciniosa ‘Kingnut’), zones 4-7


  • Japanese Chestnut (Castanea crenata), zones 4-8
  • Chinese Chestnut [9] (Castanea mollisima), zones 4-8

Article printed from Gardening Know How:

URL to article:

URLs in this post:

[1] grow nut trees:

[2] Black Walnut:

[3] Butternut:

[4] Heartnuts:

[5] Italian stone pine:

[6] Common Hazelnut:

[7] Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick:

[8] Shagbark Hickory:

[9] Chinese Chestnut:

Have any questions about this topic? Visit us at to ask your questions and get friendly answers from gardening experts.

You can also find us at:
'Like' us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter: - @gardenknowhow
Follow us on Pinterest:

Copyright © 2020 Gardening Know How. All rights reserved.