Zone 6 Nut Trees – Best Nut Trees For Zone 6 Climates

Image by kostik2photo

By Mary H. Dyer, Master Naturalist and Master Gardener

What nut trees grow in zone 6? If you’re hoping to grow nut trees in a climate where winter temperatures can drop as low as -10 F. (-23 C.), you’re in luck. Many hardy nut trees actually prefer a chilly period during the winter months. While most nut trees are relatively slow to establish, many can continue to grace the landscape for centuries, some reaching majestic heights of 100 feet. Read on for a few examples of hardy nut trees for zone 6.

Zone 6 Nut Trees

The following nut tree varieties are all hardy to zone 6 regions:


  • Black Walnut (Juglans nigra), zones 4-9
  • Carpathian Walnut, also known as English or Persian walnut, (Juglans regia), zones 5-9
  • Butternut (Juglans cinerea), zones 3-7
  • Heartnuts, also known as Japanese walnuts (Juglans sieboldiana), zones 4-9
  • Buartnuts (Juglans cinerea x juglans spp.), zones 3-7


  • Apache (Carya illinoensis ‘Apache’), zones 5-9
  • Kiowa (Carya illinoensis ‘Kiowa’), zones 6-9
  • Wichita (Carya illinoensis ‘Wichita’), zones 5-9
  • Pawnee (Carya illinoensis ‘Pawnee’), zones 6-9

Pine Nut

  • Korean pine (Pinus koreaiensis), zones 4-7
  • Italian stone pine (Pinus pinea), zones 4-7
  • Swiss stone pine (Pinus cembra), zones 3-7
  • Lacebark pine (Pinus bungeana), zones 4-8
  • Siberian dwarf pine (Pinus pumila), zones 5-8

Hazelnut (also known as filberts)

  • Common Hazelnut, also known as contorted or European hazelnut (Corylus avellana), zones 4-8
  • American Hazelnut (Corylus americana), zones 4-9
  • Beaked Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta), zones 4-8
  • Red Majestic Contorted Filbert (Corylus avellana ‘Red Majestic’), zones 4-8
  • Western Hazelnut (Corylus cornuta v. Californica), zones 4-8
  • Contorted Filbert, also known as Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick, (Corylus avellana ‘Contorta’), zones 4-8


  • Shagbark Hickory (Catya ovata), zones 3-7
  • Shellbark Hickory (Catya laciniosa), zones 4-8
  • Kingnut Hickory (Catya laciniosa ‘Kingnut’), zones 4-7


  • Japanese Chestnut (Castanea crenata), zones 4-8
  • Chinese Chestnut (Castanea mollisima), zones 4-8

More Information about Zone 6
<<PREVIOUS3 2 1 ... 123NEXT>>
Print This Article
This article was last updated on
Did you find this helpful?
Share it with your friends!

Additional Help & Information

Didn't find the answer to your question? Ask one of our friendly gardening experts.

Do you know anything about gardening? Help answer someone's gardening question.

Read more articles about Zone 6.

Search for more information

Use the search box below to find more gardening information on Gardening Know How: